Dua Lipa Wins Song of the Year at iHeartRadio Music Awards | Entertainment

Dua Lipa’s “Levitating” was crowned Song of the Year at the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards.

The annual ceremony took place at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on Tuesday night (22.03.22) and while the 26-year-old pop superstar took home the top honor of the night, Olivia Rodrigo, Foo Fighters and Silk Sonic were among the most awarded artists.

Olivia was crowned Best New Pop Artist and Female Artist of the Year, while “good 4 u” was voted TikTok Bop of the Year.

Camila Cabello also won Best Cover Song for her rendition of “good 4 u.”

Foo Fighters took home a stack of awards, including Rock Artist of the Year, Rock Song of the Year for “Waiting on a War” and Rock Album of the Year for “Medicine at Midnight.”

Accepting his Rock Artist of the Year award, frontman Dave Grohl said via video: “Thank you so much for voting us Rock Artist of the Year, iHeartRadio thank you so much. We would like to thank all of our friends and family that us to work with. Above all, the fans and audiences who love our music.”

Silk Sonic – Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak – were named Best Duo of the Year and also won RB Song of the Year for ‘Leave The Door Open’ and RB Album of the Year for ‘An Evening With Silk Sonic”.

Lil Nas X was crowned Male Artist of the Year and gave an inspirational speech about how “OK to be crazy when you’re chasing your dreams.”

The 22-year-old megastar – who came out publicly as gay in June 2019 – said: “I wouldn’t be where I am right now, in my life and my career, if I weren’t delusional. To believe that I could drop out of school and be an international hit in a year. That’s crazy!

“To believe that I could come out of the closet at the height of my career… to think that I could do that would be insane!”

Justin Bieber and The Kid LAROI won two awards for ‘Stay’, which was named Best Collaboration and also nabbed the iHeartRadio Chart Ruler Award.

Elsewhere, Machine Gun Kelly won Alternative Artist of the Year, Eurovision 2021 winner Maneskin was named Best New Alternative Artist and Billie Eilish’s ‘Happier Than Ever’ won Alternative Album by the year.

Jennifer Lopez was the winner of this year’s iHeartRadio Icon Award and Megan Thee Stallion received the Trailblazer Award.

The star-studded evening was hosted by LL Cool J and saw performances from Megan, John Legend, Charlie Puth and Maneskin.

An abbreviated list of winners:

Song of the Year: ‘Levitating’ – Dua Lipa

Female Artist of the Year: Olivia Rodrigo

Male Artist of the Year: Lil Nas X

Best Duo/Group of the Year: Silk Sonic

Best Collaboration: ‘Stay’ – The Kid LAROI Justin Bieber

Best New Pop Artist: Olivia Rodrigo

Alternative Artist of the Year: Machine Gun Kelly

Best New Alternative Artist: Maneskin

Alternative Song of the Year: ‘Monsters’ – All Time Low featuring blackbear

Alternative Album of the Year: “Happier Than Ever” – Billie Eilish

Rock Artist of the Year: Foo Fighters

Best New Rock Artist: Mammoth WVH

Rock Song of the Year: “Waiting on a War” – Foo Fighters

Rock Album of the Year: ‘Medicine at Midnight’ – Foo Fighters

Country Artist of the Year: Luke Combs

Best New Country Artist: Lainey Wilson

Country Song of the Year: ‘If I Didn’t Love You’ – Jason Aldean Carrie Underwood

Dance Artist of the Year: David Guetta

Hip Hop Artist of the Year: Drake

Hip Hop Song of the Year: “What You Know Bout Love” – Pop Smoke

Hip Hop Album of the Year: “The Off-Season” – J. Cole

RB Artist of the Year: Jazmine Sullivan

Best New RB Artist: Giveon

RB Song of the Year: ‘Leave The Door Open’ – Silk Sonic

RB Album of the Year: “An Evening with Silk Sonic”, Silk Sonic

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Artist of the Year: Bad Bunny

Best New Latin Artist: Grupo Firme

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Album of the Year: Karol G

Producer of the Year: Finneas

Songwriter of the Year: Omer Fedi

iHeartRadio Trailblazer Award: Megan Thee Stallion

iHeartRadio Chart Ruler Award: ‘Stay’ – The Kid LAROI and Justin Bieber

Best Fan Army (Socially Voted Category): #BTSARMY – BTS

Best Music Video (Socially Voted Category): ‘Butter’ – BTS

Best Lyrics (Socially Voted Category): ‘All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)’ – Taylor Swift

TikTok Bop of the Year (socially elected category): ‘good 4 u’ – Olivia Rodrigo

Best Comeback Album (Socially Voted Category: ’30’ – Adele

About Dale Davis

Check Also

blues festival returns to John Brown Farm this Sunday | News, Sports, Jobs

LAKE PLACID — John Brown Lives and the Grand Adirondack Hotel are teaming …