Who was nominated for the Grammys?

Nominations for the 64th Grammy Awards arrived on November 23, honoring artists who have made a significant impact in their genres and in the music industry.

This year, the Recording Academy, the organization behind the awards, changed the nomination process for the first time, according to NPR.

  • They have been criticized for an insular and secretive nominee selection process, where only a few show up in dozens of Grammy categories.
  • Additionally, artists like Jay-Z, Kanye West, Nicki Minaj, Drake, Frank Ocean and others have spoken out about black artists being overlooked in award categories.
  • The four major categories – Record of the Year, Song of the Year, Album of the Year and Best New Artist – now include 10 nominees instead of the previous eight and five from previous years.

Highlights of the Grammy nominations:

  • Jon Batiste leads the nominations with 11.
  • Justin Beiber, Doja Cat and HER received eight nominations.
  • Billie Eilish and Oliva Rodrigo received seven.
  • Oliva Rodrigo’s first Grammy nominations were in all four major categories. “A lot of dreams have come true for me this year, but this one is probably the most meaningful,” Rodrigo said on Instagram.
  • Other nominees for the first time include Selena Gomez in the category of best Latin pop album.
  • Comedians Dave Chappelle and Louis CK were nominated for Best Oral Album and Best Comedy Album, respectively.

Here is a list of other nominees:

The 2022 Grammy nominations

Record of the year

  • “I still have faith in you” – ABBA.
  • “Freedom” – Jon Batiste.
  • “I got a kick out of you” – Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga.
  • “Peaches” – Justin Bieber with Daniel Caesar & Giveon.
  • “Just in time” – Brandi Carlile.
  • “Kiss Me More” – Doja Cat with SZA.
  • “Happier than ever” – Billie Eilish.
  • “Montero” (Call me by your name) – Lil Nas X.
  • “Driving license” – Olivia Rodrigo.
  • “Leave the door open” – Silk Sonic.

Album of the year

  • We are – Jon Batiste.
  • Love for Sale – Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga.
  • Justice (Triple Chucks Deluxe) – Justin Bieber.
  • Planet Her (Deluxe) – Doja Cat.
  • Happier than ever – Billie Eilish.
  • Back Of My Mind – SHE
  • Montero – Lil Nas X.
  • Sour – Olivia Rodrigo.
  • always – Taylor Swift.
  • Donda – Kanye West.

Song of the year

  • “Bad Habits” – Fred Gibson, Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran, songwriters (Ed Sheeran).
  • “A Beautiful Noise” – Ruby Amanfu, Brandi Carlile, Brandy Clark, Alicia Keys, Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Linda Perry & Hailey Whitters, songwriters (Alicia Keys and Brandi Carlile).
  • “driver’s license” – Daniel Nigro & Olivia Rodrigo, songwriters (Olivia Rodrigo).
  • “Fight For You” – Dernst Emile II, HER & Tiara Thomas, songwriters (HER).
  • “Happier Than Ever” – Billie Eilish O’Connell & Finneas O’Connell, songwriters (Billie Eilish).
  • “Kiss Me More” – Rogét Chahayed, Amala Zandile Dlamini, Lukasz Gottwald, Carter Lang, Gerard A. Powell II, Solána Rowe and David Sprecher, songwriters (Doja Cat feat. SZA).
  • “Leave the Door Open” – Brandon Anderson, Christopher Brody Brown, Dernst Emile II and Bruno Mars, songwriters (Silk Sonic).
  • “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)” – Denzel Baptiste, David Biral, Omer Fedi, Montero Hill & Roy Lenzo, songwriters (Lil Nas X).
  • “Peaches” – Louis Bell, Justin Bieber, Giveon Dezmann Evans, Bernard Harvey, Felisha “Fury” King, Matthew Sean Leon, Luis Manual Martinez Jr., Aaron Simmonds, Ashton Simmonds, Andrew Wotman & Keavan Yazdani, songwriters (Justin Bieber with Daniel César and Giveon).

Best New Artist

  • Arooj Aftab.
  • Jimmie Allen.
  • Baby Keem.
  • Finneas.
  • Glass animals.
  • Japanese breakfast.
  • The Kid Laroi.
  • Arlo Parks.
  • Olivia Rodrigo.
  • Saweetie.


  • “Shot in the dark” – AC / DC; David Mallet, video director; Dione Orrom, video producer.
  • “Liberty” – Jon Batiste; Alan Ferguson, video director; Alex P. Willson, video producer.
  • “I’m taking a kick from you” – Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga; Jennifer Lebeau, video director; Danny Bennett, Bobby Campbell and Jennifer Lebeau, video producers.
  • “Peaches”, Justin Bieber with Daniel Caesar & Giveon; Collin Tilley, video director.
  • “Happier than ever” – Billie Eilish; Billie Eilish, video director; Michelle An, Chelsea Dodson & David Moore, video producers.
  • “Montero (Call me by your name)” – Lil Nas X; Lil Nas X & Tanu Muino, video directors; Frank Borin, Ivanna Borin, Marco De Molina & Saul Levitz, video producers.
  • “Good 4 U” – Olivia Rodrigo; Petra Collins, video director; Christiana Divona, Marissa Ramirez & Tiffany Suh, video producers.

Check out the full list of official Grammy nominations website.

About Dale Davis

Check Also

[CELEB] KARD Looks To ‘Re:’ Establish Their Place As Mixed Kings And Queens Of K-pop

[CELEB] KARD Looks To ‘Re:’ Establish Their Place As Mixed Kings And Queens Of K-pop

KARD is promoting their new EP “Re:” and performing their title track “Ring The Alarm” …